Project Description

Amazon: Fake 5 ratings flood the e-commerce portal

Amazon Produkt Rating

Almost 90% of the products examined on Amazon have counterfeit 5-star ratings. This is a recurring problem for Amazon.

The British consumer portal Which? investigated hundreds of technical products from 14 categories such as headphones, fitness trackers and smart watches for suspicious ratings. Among the best rated products were numerous unknown brands such as Aitalk, Vogek or ITSHIN.

It was noticeable that they had thousands of unverified ratings. In addition, a large number of reviews were published in an extremely short period of time. Another suspicious indicator.

A problem for Amazon that has been known for years

The shocking result of Which? showed that 87% of more than 12,000 ratings are not credible. In the headphone sector, 71% of all reviews had suspicious 5-star ratings. A set of headphones of the relatively unknown brand Celebrat had 439 ratings. Always 5-star, but all unverified purchases and all reviews were published in one day.

For Amazon, however, this problem with fake ratings is nothing new. Already in 2017 the software provider Reviewmeta determined that almost every fifth Amazon rating is a fake. The e-commerce giant has been fighting fake reviews for years. According to Amazon, it invests enormous sums in the automatic detection of fake reviews.

Project Description

Amazon: Fake 5-Bewertungen überfluten das E-Commerce-Portal

Amazon Produkt Rating

Fast 90% der untersuchten Produkte auf Amazon besitzen gefälschte 5-Sterne-Bewertungen. Für Amazon ein immer wieder auftretendes Problem.

Das Britische Verbraucherportal Which? untersuchte hunderte von Technik-Produkten aus 14 Kategorien wie Kopfhörer, Fitnesstracker und Smart Watches auf verdächtige Bewertungen. Unter den am besten bewerteten Produkten rangierten zahlreiche unbekannte Brands wie Aitalk, Vogek oder ITSHIN.

Auffällig war, dass diese tausende von nicht verifizierten Bewertungen hatten. Hinzu kommt, dass eine Vielzahl an Reviews in einem extrem kurzen Zeitraum veröffentlicht wurde. Ein weiterer verdächtiger Indikator.

Seit Jahren bekanntes Problem für Amazon

Das schockierende Ergebnis von Which? zeigte, dass 87% von mehr als 12.000 Bewertungen nicht glaubwürdig sind. Im Bereich Kopfhörer gab es bei 71% aller Bewertungen verdächtige 5-Sterne-Bewertungen. Ein Set von Kopfhörern der relativ unbekannten Marke Celebrat besaß 439 Bewertungen. Immer 5-Sterne, aber alles nicht verifizierte Käufe und alle Bewertungen wurden an einem Tag veröffentlicht.

Für Amazon ist dieses Problem mit gefälschten Bewertungen  jedoch nichts Neues. Bereits 2017 ermittelte der Softwareanbieter Reviewmeta, dass fast jede fünfte Amazon- Bewertung ein Fake ist. Der E-Commerce-Gigant kämpft seit Jahren gegen Fake-Rezensionen an. Nach eigenen Angaben investiert Amazon enorme Summen in die automatische Erkennung von gefälschten Bewertungen.