/Legislative change §611a BGB
Legislative change §611a BGB 2017-11-23T12:31:22+00:00

Creating legal certainty, combating pseudo-self-employment

In spring 2017, a legislative change occurred of paragraph 611a in the BGB [German Civil Code]. With this, the legislator intends to proceed more effectively against pseudo-self-employment and create more legal certainty. What does the legal change mean in detail? Do you profit from it as an employer? JET Services will answer the most important questions for you.

1. What is the legislative change comprised of?

During the course of the amendment of the AÜG [German Temporary Employment Act], the legislator newly introduced paragraph 611a into the German Civil Code (BGB). The inclusion of the new paragraph took place as of 1st April 2017. With this, the employment contract is clearly defined as an individual type of law for the first time. Wording of Section 611a I BGB:

By virtue of the employment contract, the employee is obligated, at the service of another party, to perform work bound by instructions, directed by others in personal dependency. The right to issue instructions may relate to the content, implementation, time and location of the activity. Anyone who is not essentially free to structure his activity and determine his working time is bound by instructions. The degree of personal dependency is also based on the specific nature of the respective activity. An overall analysis of all circumstances must be performed to determine whether an employment contract exists. If the actual implementation of the contractual relationship shows that it involves an employment relationship, the description in the contract is irrelevant.

2. Which goal is pursued by the legislator?

On the one hand, the legislator intends to improve transparency and on the other hand, increase legal certainty. Furthermore, it is unequivocally clarified, that when someone is bound by instructions in relation to content, implementation, time and location, he is an employee according to the new case law.  Conversely, this shows which unequivocal criteria defined pseudo-self-employment.

3. When does pseudo-self-employment exist according to Section 611 BGB?

In total, there are 8 different criteria, for when pseudo-self-employment exists. This exists, if:

  • Someone is not free to structure his working time or the owed performance or his work location.
  • The owed performance is mainly provided in the premises of a third party.
  • For the provision of the owed performance, work equipment of a third party is used on a regular basis.
  • The owed performance is provided in cooperation with persons, who are assigned or mandated by a third party.
  • Someone is exclusively or mainly working for a third party.
  • The relevant person does not maintain his own business organisation in order to provide the owed performance.
  • Performance has been provided without an arranged work result or owed work success and subject to correction.
  • No guarantee is provided for the result of his activity.

4. Which possible consequences does pseudo-self-employment have for the employer?

First of all, a social security obligation must be established afterwards. If this case occurs, the employer must pay social security contributions for up to 4 years in arrears. Furthermore, employers are required to cover both the employee and employer portion of the social security. In addition, there is a threat of arrears payments of wage tax and input tax.

5. Which advantages arise from permanent hiring for employees?

With JET Services, you have an employer at your side, which relies on permanently employed staff. Therefore, we guarantee you absolute legal certainty. Additional advantages of permanent employment at JET Services for all staff:

  • Contractually guarantee income
  • Receipt of a proper payroll statement
  • Payment of the taxes by the employer
  • Insurance by the employer in the case of accidents on the way to the place of work
  • Integration into the work organisation
  • Statutory dismissal protection after the probation period
  • Professional promotion opportunities
  • Further development of skills and knowledge through training courses

Rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie uns. / Give us a call or write to us.

Tel +49 6172 6870-0    |    jet-contact@jet-services.com

Send this to a friend

/Gesetzesänderung §611a BGB
Gesetzesänderung §611a BGB 2017-11-23T11:55:18+00:00

Rechtssicherheit schaffen, Scheinselbstständigkeit bekämpfen

Im Frühjahr 2017 erfolgte eine Gesetzesänderung des Paragraphen 611a im BGB. Mit dieser will der Gesetzgeber effektiver gegen die Scheinselbstständigkeit vorgehen und mehr Rechtssicherheit schaffen. Was bedeutet die gesetzliche Änderung im Detail? Profitieren Sie als Arbeitnehmer davon? JET Services beantwortet Ihnen die wichtigsten Fragen.

1. Was beinhaltet die Gesetzesänderung?

Im Zuge der Novellierung des AÜGs hat der Gesetzgeber den Paragraphen 611a neu in das Bürgerliche Gesetzbuch (BGB) eingeführt. Die Aufnahme des neuen Paragraphen erfolgte zum 01. April 2017. Erstmalig ist damit der Arbeitsvertrag als eigener Gesetzestyp klar definiert. Der §611a I BGB im Wortlaut:

Durch den Arbeitsvertrag wird der Arbeitnehmer im Dienste eines anderen zur Leistung weisungsgebundener, fremdbestimmter Arbeit in persönlicher Abhängigkeit verpflichtet. Das Weisungsrecht kann Inhalt, Durchführung, Zeit und Ort der Tätigkeit betreffen. Weisungsgebunden ist, wer nicht im Wesentlichen frei seine Tätigkeit gestalten und seine Arbeitszeit bestimmen kann. Der Grad der persönlichen Abhängigkeit hängt dabei auch von der Eigenart der jeweiligen Tätigkeit ab. Für die Feststellung, ob ein Arbeitsvertrag vorliegt, ist eine Gesamtbetrachtung aller Umstände vorzunehmen. Zeigt die tatsächliche Durchführung des Vertragsverhältnisses, dass es sich um ein Arbeitsverhältnis handelt, kommt es auf die Bezeichnung im Vertrag nicht an.

2. Welches Ziel verfolgt der Gesetzgeber?

Der Gesetzgeber möchte zum einen die Transparenz verbessern und zum anderen die Rechtssicherheit erhöhen. Ferner ist eindeutig geklärt, wenn jemand in Bezug auf Inhalt, Durchführung, Zeit und Ort seiner ausgeübten Tätigkeit weisungsgebunden ist, dann ist er nach der neuen Rechtsprechung Arbeitnehmer. Daraus ergibt sich im Umkehrschluss, welche eindeutigen Kriterien eine Scheinselbstständigkeit definieren.

3. Wann liegt laut §611 BGB eine Scheinselbstständigkeit vor?

Insgesamt gibt es 8 verschiedene Kriterien, wann eine Scheinselbstständigkeit vorliegt. Diese besteht, wenn:

  • Jemand nicht frei darin ist, seine Arbeitszeit oder die geschuldete Leistung zu gestalten oder seinen Arbeitsort zu bestimmen.
  • Die geschuldete Leistung überwiegend in Räumen eines anderen erbringt.
  • Zur Erbringung der geschuldeten Leistung regelmäßig Arbeitsmittel eines anderen nutzt.
  • Die geschuldete Leistung in Zusammenarbeit mit Personen erbringt, die von einem anderen eingesetzt oder beauftragt werden.
  • Jemand ausschließlich oder überwiegend für einen anderen tätig ist.
  • Die betreffende Person keine eigene betriebliche Organisation unterhält, um die geschuldete Leistung zu erbringen.
  • Leistungen ohne vereinbartes Arbeitsergebnis oder geschuldeten Arbeitserfolg und ohne Gewähr erbracht wurde.
  • Für das Ergebnis seiner Tätigkeit keine Gewähr leistet.

4. Welche möglichen Folgen hat eine Scheinselbständigkeit für Arbeitgeber?

Zunächst muss eine Sozialversicherungspflicht nachträglich festgestellt werden. Tritt dieser Fall ein, muss der Arbeitgeber bis zu 4 Jahre rückwirkend Sozialversicherungsbeiträge nachzahlen. Außerdem müssen Arbeitgeber sowohl den Arbeitnehmer- als auch Arbeitgeberanteil der Sozialversicherung übernehmen. Des Weiteren droht auch die Nachzahlung von Lohnsteuer und Vorsteuer.

5. Welche Vorteile ergeben sich aus der Festanstellung für Arbeitnehmer?

Mit JET Services haben Sie einen Arbeitgeber an Ihrer Seite, der auf fest angestellte Mitarbeiter setzt. Damit garantieren wir Ihnen absolute Rechtssicherheit. Weitere Vorteile einer Festanstellung bei JET Services für alle Mitarbeiter:

  • Vertraglich garantiertes Einkommen
  • Erhalt einer ordnungsgemäßen Entgeltabrechnung
  • Entrichtung der Steuer durch den Arbeitgeber
  • Versicherung durch den Arbeitgeber bei Unfällen auf dem Weg zum Einsatzort
  • Eingliederung in die Arbeitsorganisation
  • Gesetzlicher Kündigungsschutz nach der Probezeit
  • Berufliche Aufstiegsmöglichkeiten
  • Weiterentwicklung von Fähigkeiten und Kenntnissen durch Schulungen

Rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie uns. / Give us a call or write to us.

Tel +49 6172 6870-0    |    jet-contact@jet-services.com