Project Description

Amazon posts record Q1 profit

Profit well above analysts’ expectations. Investments are to be stepped up in Q2.

According to the FAZ, Amazon.com has posted a new record profit for the fourth time in a row. Net profit in Q1 was $3.6 billion, twice as high as last year. Earnings per share stood at 7.09 dollars. Analysts calculated an average result of 4.72 dollars per share.

On the other hand, the turnover of 59.7 billion dollars met the expectations of the financial experts almost exactly. However, the share price remained almost unchanged after trading. Since the beginning of the year, the Amazon share has gained almost 30% in value.

Expectations for the upcoming quarter have already been dampened. According to the FAZ, CFO Brian Olsavsky announced that investments would be further increased at the expense of profitability.

One focus is on even faster delivery. The “Prime” programme is to be made even more attractive. Many “Prime” orders are delivered within two days, sometimes even on the same day. The aim is to make the one-day time window the standard instead of the two days that have been customary up to now.

The project is to be launched in North America and later in other countries. In the next quarter, investments of almost 800 million will be necessary. Among other things, these investments will be used to expand the logistics network

Projekt Beschreibung

Amazon verzeichnet Rekordgewinn in Q1

Gewinn liegt deutlich über den Erwartungen der Analysten. In Q2 sollen verstärkt Investitionen erfolgen.

Wie die FAZ vermeldet, hat Amazon.com zum vierten Mal in Folge einen neuen Rekordgewinn verbucht. Der Nettogewinn lag in Q1 bei 3,6 Milliarden Dollar und damit doppelt so hoch wie im vergangenen Jahr. Das Ergebnis je Aktie rangierte bei 7,09 Dollar. Analysten rechneten im Schnitt mit einem Ergebnis von 4,72 Dollar je Aktie.

Dagegen traf der Umsatz von 59,7 Milliarden Dollar die Erwartungen der Finanzexperten fast genau. Der Aktienkurs blieb nachbörslich allerdings fast unverändert. Seit Jahresbeginn hat die Aktie von Amazon um fast 30% an Wert zugelegt.

Für das kommende Quartal wurden die Erwartungen bereits gedämpft. Wie die FAZ schreibt, kündigte Finanzvorstand Brian Olsavsky an, die Investitionen weiter aufzustocken auf Kosten der Profitabilität.

Ein Fokus liegt auf der noch schnelleren Auslieferung. Dabei soll das „Prime“-Programm noch attraktiver gemacht werden. Viele „Prime“-Bestellungen sind innerhalb von zwei Tagen, manchmal sogar am selben Tag, zugestellt. Ziel ist es, das eintägige Zeitfenster zum Standard zu machen statt der bisher üblichen zwei Tage.

Gestartet werden soll das Projekt in Nordamerika und später in weiteren Ländern. Allein im nächsten Quartal sind dafür Investitionen von knapp 800 Millionen notwendig. Diese fließen unter anderem in den Ausbau des Logistiknetzes.